Types Of Hackers | Blackhatworld

A Hacker is a person who is fascinated by the mysterious workings of any computer operating system. Hackers are frequent programmers.

Top user Asked on November 24, 2022 in Business.
Add Comment
1 Answer(s)

A Hacker is a person who is fascinated by the mysterious workings of any computer operating system. Hackers are frequent programmers. They gain advanced knowledge of operating systems and programming languages and discover system loopholes and the reasons for such loopholes.

RE: Types Of Hackers | Blackhatworld

There are generally 10-types of Hackers, they are:

  • White Hat Hackers: White hat hackers are authorised or certified hackers who perform penetration testing and identify security flaws for the government and organisations. They also protect against malicious cybercrime. They work under government rules and regulations, which is why they are referred to as Ethical hackers or Cybersecurity experts.
  • Black Hat Hackers: They are commonly referred to as Crackers. Black Hat Hackers can gain unauthorised access to your system and destroy vital data. The method of attack employs common hacking techniques that they have previously learned. They are considered criminals and are easily identified due to their malicious actions.
  • Gray Hat Hackers:Gray hat hackers fall somewhere between white hat and black hat hackers. They are not legally authorised hackers. They work with both good and bad intentions; they can use their skills for personal gain. It all depends on the hacker. If a grey hat hacker uses his or her skill for personal gain, he or she is considered a black hat hacker.
  • Script Kiddies: In terms of hackers, they are the most dangerous people. A script kiddie is a novice hacker who uses scripts or downloads hacking tools provided by other hackers. They make attempts to compromise computer systems and networks, as well as to deface websites. Their primary goal is to impress their peers and the wider society. Script Kiddies are typically underage hackers.
  • Green Hat Hackers:They are also novices in the world of hacking, but they are not script kiddies. They are interested in hacking and aspire to be full-fledged hackers. They are inspired by the hackers and have a few questions for them. While hackers respond to their question, they will pay attention to its novelty.
  • Blue Hat Hackers:They, like the script kiddies, are newcomers to the world of hacking. If someone creates a script kiddie with the intent of retaliating, they are classified as blue hat hackers. Blue Hat hackers retaliate against those who have challenged or irritated them. Blue hat hackers, like the Script Kiddies, have no desire to learn.
  • Red Hat Hackers: They are also known as eagle-eyed hackers. Red hat hackers, like white hat hackers, seek to stop black hat hackers. They operate in very different ways. When dealing with malware actions by black hat hackers, they become ruthless. Red hat hackers will continue to attack the hacker so aggressively that the hacker may be forced to replace the entire system.
  • State/Nation Sponsored Hackers: State or nation sponsored hackers are those who are appointed by the government to provide cybersecurity and obtain confidential information from other countries in order to stay at the top or to avoid any kind of danger to the country. They are highly compensated government employees.
  • Hacktivist: These are also known as the activists’ online personas. A hacktivist is an individual or group of anonymous hackers who gain unauthorised access to government computer files and networks for social or political purposes.
  • Malicious Insider or Whistleblower: A malicious insider or whistleblower could be an employee of a company or a government agency with a grudge or a strategic employee who becomes aware of any illegal activities occurring within the organisation and can blackmail the organisation for personal gain.

Different types of methodologies :

Here, we will discuss the Different types of methodologies as follows.

  1. Reconnaissance –
    Reconnaissance is the process of gathering information about the target system. Finding vulnerabilities in the computer system or methods that have been left vulnerable is part of the process. If the hacker gains access to the system, he or she will continue the hacking procedure. At the end of the reconnaissance phase, the hacker has a wealth of information on which to build a viable attack on the target system.
  2. Scanning – 
    Before launching an attack, the hacker wants to know if the system is up and running, which apps are installed, and what versions of those programmes are in use. Scanning is the process of searching for all open and closed ports in order to find a backdoor into the system. Obtaining the target’s IP address, user accounts, and other information is required. The data gathered during the reconnaissance phase is used to inspect the network with tools like dialers and port scanners. N-map is a well-known, powerful, and free scanning tool.
  3. Gaining Control –   
    In this phase of the hacking method, the information obtained in the previous two phases is used to enter and control the target system via the network or physically. This is often referred to as “Owning the System.” 
  4. Maintaining Access –
    After gaining access to the system in the previous stage, the hacker keeps it for future attacks and modifies the system so that no other security personnel or hackers can gain access to the compromised system. In this case, the attacked system is referred to as the “Zombie System.” 
  5. Log Clearing –
    It is the process of erasing any remaining log files or other types of evidence on the hacked system that could lead to the hacker’s arrest. Penetration testing is one of the tools available in ethical hacking approaches for catching a hacker.
Top user Answered on November 24, 2022.
Add Comment

Your Answer

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.